Crews take Night off to Enjoy Annual Awards Banquet
By Fire Chief Frank Dowlin
April 27, 2019

On Saturday April 27 2019 the members and their families of the Modena Fire Company gathered at Pronto’s for the 2018 awards banquet.

The evening started out with a social hour before enjoying a fine dinner provided by Pronto’s.

Following dinner it was time for members to be recognized for their hard work in 2018.

First up was President Bryant who presented the 2018 Presidents award which is in honor of the late Leon Pluck, this year’s recipient was Tom Cowperthwaite.

Next up EMS Chief Douglas Dowlin who announced the 100 club members on the EMS side and EMS person of the year, this year recipient was Liz Corle who unfortunately was not able to attend.

EMS Chief Dowlin next presenting the Paid EMS person of the year, this award was new in 2017 and will be in memory of the late Robert Ashby one of our employees who passed in 2017, 2018 recipient was William Dill.

Next up Chief Dowlin handed out the 100 club on the fire side and Firefighter of the year, this year's recipient was Billy Lewis.

Then Chief Dowlin handed out a Chief’s Award to a member that showed leadership, dedication, and honor to the company, this year recipient was Steve Cooper.

This year’s banquet was scaled down this year, it was decided to do this for the next few years in preparation of the 100th Anniversary in 2022 where we guarantee you we will have a BIG blow out party.

The officers and members of the company would like to thank the Honey Brook Fire Company for covering our station throughout the evening.